I know I’m in the middle of studying for finals, and should therefore be thinking about much more important things.  Like contracts, or constitutional law, for example.  But this has been bugging me for awhile now, and I’m doing everything I can to avoid work.  So here we go.

I absolutely hate it when people ask, “Do you mind if I…?”  HATE.  Now I’m sure most people don’t think about this phrase as much as I do, and it most likely doesn’t bug other people.  But it really bugs me.

Okay, so when somebody says, “Do you mind if I…?” I believe the correct way to answer is with a Yes or No.  So if you do mind (and therefore don’t want the other person to do whatever they’re asking to do), you answer with a “Yes.”  But if you don’t mind (thereby allowing the other person to do whatever), you answer with a “No.”  So, “Yes, I do mind” or “No, I don’t mind.”  Get it?  Okay, here’s my problem.

Most people I’ve spoken to don’t seem to get this reasoning.  A few months ago, I invited several friends over to my house for a little get together.  Nothing too big, just pizza and chatting.  One of my friends texted me, and asked “Do you mind if I bring my boyfriend over?”  I texted back something along the lines of, “No, of course not!  Bring whoever.”  She ended up not bringing him, because she thought I didn’t want him to come.  Another example is even more recent.  My roomie texted me and asked “Do you mind if I bring a friend over to watch the game?”  I immediately texted back, “No go ahead.  I’ll be working in my room anyway.”  But she hasn’t come over yet.  Which makes me think that she also misinterpreted my response.

Okay, rant over.  Now back to studying.